Events‎ > ‎

Mediterranean School on Nano-Physics

posted May 13, 2010, 12:30 AM by Igor Lukyanchuk   [ updated Jun 28, 2010, 1:08 PM ]
will be organized in Marrakech in Dec. 2010 by I. Lukyanchuk and D. Mezzane in frame of ICTP-UNESCO program of foster the research in developing countries.

The objective of the School is to give to the Master and PhD students and young researchers from developing Mediterranean and African countries the general vision of the contemporary nano-physics, practical knowledge of the modeling methods, and simulations. The teaching will start from the general theoretical concepts of nano-world. Then the major spectrum of the special problems of nano-physics will be reviewed.  The laboratory training will include both theoretical and experimental methods. Special emphasis will be given to problems related with region-important problems like solar energy, materials and technologies for local industry, application of satellite remote sensing methods etc. The school is subscribed in the activity of collaboration programs VOLUBILIS, FP7-ROBOCON and in the network Mediterranean Electronic Materials (MeM). It will be held at the Faculty of Science and Techniques of University of Marrakech.

The program of the School includes:

- Models of statistical physics in nano-world
-  Phenomenology, macroscopic description and finite size effects
- Monte-Carlo and ab-initio simulation
- Ferroelectricity and Nano-ferroelectric materials and devices
- Nanomagnetism
- Superconductivity and superconducting device
- Cabon-based materials for future nanoelectronics
-  Semiconductors, Nanophotonics, Spintronics, Lasers
-  Photovoltaics: materials and modeling
-  Ecology and Water treatment
-  Physical principles of remote sensing satellite methods of desert monitoring


Igor Lukyanchuk,    University of Picardy, France
Daoud Mezzane,      Caddy Ayad University, Marrakech, Morocco
Sandro Scandolo,     ICTP, Trieste, Italy
Vladimir Kravtsov,     ICTP -Trieste, Italy



Abdelilah Benyoussef, University Mohammed V, Morocco
Alexandre Buzdin, University of Bordeaux    France
Abderrahmane Kadri, University of Oran, Algeria
Alexey    Kavokin, University of Southampton,  UK
Hamadi Khemahem, University of Sfax, Tunisia
Mikhail Kiselev, ICTP Trieste, Italy
Mikhail Portnoi, University of Exeter, UK
Siddharth Saxena, University of Cambridge, UK
Sergey    Stankevich, Centre for Aerospace Research of the Earth, Ukraine
Pavel    Wiegmann, University of Chicago, USA
Victor    Yakovenko, University of Maryland, USA
Izeddine Zokrani, University of Fes, Morocco


Cadi Ayyad University , Marrakech
My Ismail University, Meknes